Foreword

This issue of Progress in Nuclear Science and Technology contains contributions to Actinides 2017, the international conference on science and technology of actinide and transactinide elements, which was held in Sendai, Japan, July 9 to 14, 2017, at the Tohoku University centennial hall. The conference was organized by Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University and Atomic Energy Society of Japan.

The Actinides conference series initiated in Baden-Baden, Germany (1975), and followed by meetings at Asilomar, CA, USA (1981), Aix-en-Provence, France (1985), Tashkent, USSR (1989), Santa Fe, NM, USA (1993), Baden-Baden, Germany (1997), Hayama, Japan (2001), Manchester, UK (2005), San Francisco, USA (2009) and Karlsruhe, Germany (2013).

The conference in Sendai focused on fundamental aspects of actinide and related materials. Since early 1940's these elements have attracted interests because of their surprisingly rich variety of scientific behaviors. In recent years, the continuous discovery of new compounds and phenomena have been motivating scientists and engineers for further investigations and providing new insights in material science and technology. On the other hand, the earthquake in 2011 followed by the nuclear power plant accident had serious impact not only on people's life but also on the atomic energy industry and scientific activities. In Actinides 2017, therefore, decommissioning and environmental issues were also important subjects.

The conference consisted of plenary, invited, oral and poster presentations by more than 230 participants from 17 countries. In addition to the regular sessions, MEXT project special session "Actinides Basics for decommissioning of Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station" was held.

This volume of Progress in Nuclear Science and Technology contains papers presented in Actinides 2017. We hope this volume will provide readers an update of actinide science and technology.

October 17, 2018 Yoshinori Haga and Yoshihiro Okamoto Co-chairs, Editorial Committee